School Governors

What do Governors do?

The Governing Body at Clyst Heath is made up of 15 people representing staff, parents, the community and the Local Authority. They are all volunteers and attend approximately six meetings a year to discuss school business and learning objectives. The Governing Body is responsible for:

  • Determining the strategic direction and objectives of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement
  • Setting and monitoring the school budget
  • Playing a part in appointing staff; supporting the senior team; and reviewing staffing level and structures
  • Ensuring policies are set, reviewed and adhered to
  • Monitoring Health and Safety and management of school premises


Governing bodies make their decisions as a group and devolve some responsibilities to smaller committees, such as Finance and Premises, drawing upon the specialisms and experience of individual governors. Governing bodies in schools and colleges are accountable for:

•       the use of public funds

•       the quality of education provided

•       the wider contribution to the community

At Clyst Heath, all Governance duties are carried out in close collaboration with the Head Teacher and Senior Team. It is often said that Governors should aim to act as a “critical friend” to the Head Teacher. Every decision made is done so with the best interests of pupils, staff and parents very much in mind.


Finding out more

Minutes of Governors Meetings are available to view by appointment with the school office. If you wish to contact the Governing Body this can also be done via the school office. 

Mrs. Katy Gray Chair of Governors Community Governor
Mrs. Karen Hadley Staff (Headteacher)
Mr. Jeremy Davy Staff Governor
Mrs. Sue Hickman Staff Governor
Mrs Dianne Goodwin Clerk to Governors
Mrs Christine Campion Parent Governor
Mr Nick Lloyd Parent Governor
Mr Tudor Chinnah Co-opted Governor
Mrs Claire Reynolds Co-opted Governor
Mr Graham Woollacott Co-opted Governor
Sarah Riley Governor